Sybase NNTP forums - End Of Life (EOL)

The NNTP forums from Sybase - forums.sybase.com - are now closed.

All new questions should be directed to the appropriate forum at the SAP Community Network (SCN).

Individual products have links to the respective forums on SCN, or you can go to SCN and search for your product in the search box (upper right corner) to find your specific developer center.

Ultralite Delete question

2 posts in Ultralite Last posting was on 2011-01-26 20:44:57.0Z
Phil. Posted on 2011-01-26 20:08:47.0Z
Sender: 7396.4d407dd1.1804289383@sybase.com
From: Phil.
Newsgroups: sybase.public.sqlanywhere.ultralite
Subject: Ultralite Delete question
X-Mailer: WebNews to Mail Gateway v1.1t
Message-ID: <4d407f4f.7407.1681692777@sybase.com>
NNTP-Posting-Host: 10.22.241.41
X-Original-NNTP-Posting-Host: 10.22.241.41
Date: 26 Jan 2011 12:08:47 -0800
X-Trace: forums-1-dub 1296072527 10.22.241.41 (26 Jan 2011 12:08:47 -0800)
X-Original-Trace: 26 Jan 2011 12:08:47 -0800, 10.22.241.41
Lines: 23
Path: forums-1-dub!not-for-mail
Xref: forums-1-dub sybase.public.sqlanywhere.ultralite:12350
Article PK: 1048180

I have an ultralite application using SQL Anywhere
9.0.2.3375 running on a Windows Mobile 5 device.

I am upgrading an application for my customer. The upgrade
involves some columns in some very large tables being added
and deleted.

After I reinstall the application I can successfully upgrade
the schema.

But, due to the schema changes I want to delete all of the
information in 2 tables and resync to get the data in the
new format.

When I delete all of the data from these 2 columns and sync
I see all of these rows being processed for the
upload_delete event. I don't do anything in this event on
the server side.

How do I delete all of the rows in these 2 tables but have
the deletes be effectively ignored during the sync process?

Phil.


Tim McClements [Sybase] Posted on 2011-01-26 20:44:57.0Z
From: "Tim McClements [Sybase]" <mcclemenXnospam@sybase.com>
Newsgroups: sybase.public.sqlanywhere.ultralite
References: <4d407f4f.7407.1681692777@sybase.com>
Subject: Re: Ultralite Delete question
Lines: 42
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Newsreader: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2900.5931
X-RFC2646: Format=Flowed; Original
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2900.5994
NNTP-Posting-Host: vip152.sybase.com
X-Original-NNTP-Posting-Host: vip152.sybase.com
Message-ID: <4d4087c9$1@forums-1-dub>
Date: 26 Jan 2011 12:44:57 -0800
X-Trace: forums-1-dub 1296074697 10.22.241.152 (26 Jan 2011 12:44:57 -0800)
X-Original-Trace: 26 Jan 2011 12:44:57 -0800, vip152.sybase.com
X-Authenticated-User: techsupp
Path: forums-1-dub!not-for-mail
Xref: forums-1-dub sybase.public.sqlanywhere.ultralite:12351
Article PK: 1048179

If these rows were previously downloaded, you want to use the TRUNCATE TABLE
statement. What TRUNCATE does is:

STOP SYNCHRONIZATION DELETE
DELETE FROM TABLE
START SYNCHRONIZATION DELETE

What STOP SYNCHRONIZATION DELETE does is tell UL that deletes should not be
synchronized up to MobiLink. What this means is: for a row that was
previously downloaded, the row is simply deleted and nothing is sent to
MobiLink. For a row which was newly inserted on the device, the row is
deleted logically but the 'insert' is still sent to MobiLink.

- Tim

<Phil.> wrote in message news:4d407f4f.7407.1681692777@sybase.com...
>I have an ultralite application using SQL Anywhere
> 9.0.2.3375 running on a Windows Mobile 5 device.
>
> I am upgrading an application for my customer. The upgrade
> involves some columns in some very large tables being added
> and deleted.
>
> After I reinstall the application I can successfully upgrade
> the schema.
>
> But, due to the schema changes I want to delete all of the
> information in 2 tables and resync to get the data in the
> new format.
>
> When I delete all of the data from these 2 columns and sync
> I see all of these rows being processed for the
> upload_delete event. I don't do anything in this event on
> the server side.
>
> How do I delete all of the rows in these 2 tables but have
> the deletes be effectively ignored during the sync process?
>
> Phil.